

Council Wednesday 19 July 2023

The Council House, Corporation Street, Derby, DE1 2FS at 6:00pm.

NOTE FOR THE PUBLIC: Members of the public are advised to watch proceedings via the Derby City Council <u>YouTube channel</u>. Seating is available in the Council Chamber for those wishing to attend in person and will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

Members:

The Mayor, Councillor Alan Graves and Councillors Amin, Ashby, Bolton, Bonser, Care, Chambers, Dhindsa, Evans, Eyre, Fowke, Hassall, Hezelgrave, A Holmes, M Holmes, Hudson, C Ingall, P Ingall, Kaur, J Khan, S Khan, Kozlowski, Kus, Lakin, Lindsey, Lonsdale, Martin, Morgan-McGeehan, Mulhall, Nawaz, Onuoha, Pandey, Pattison, Pearce, Peatfield, Potter, Poulter, Prosser, Rawson, Repton, Roulstone, Sandhu, Shanker, Smale, Swan, Trewhella, Whitby, Wilson, C Wright and J Wright.

Agenda

1. Apologies

2. Declarations of Interest Attached

3. Minutes of the meeting of Council held on 24 May 2023

Attached

- 4. Announcements from the Mayor
- 5. Statements from members of the Council Cabinet
- 6. Questions from the Public

	Questioner	Respondent	Summary
Α	Tony Mott	Cllr Swan	A6 Cycle Path
В	Brendan Connelly	Cllr Swan	Road repair schedule
С	Margaret Palmer	Cllr S Khan	Houses in multiple occupation
D	Vanessa Boon	Cllr Hezelgrave	Questions relating to equality, diversity and community cohesion.
	Brendan Connelly		
	Vanessa Boon		
	Julie Brandon		
Е	Alice McMichael	Cllr Hezelgrave	Support for refugee integration
F	Adrian Howlett	Cllr Swan	Questions relating to Climate Change engagement and consultation.
	Pauline Inwood		
	Ruth Coates		
	Clare Wood		
G	Derek Gould	Cllr Shanker	Normanton Ward candidate meeting
Н	Mair Bain	Cllr Swan	Home insulation
I	Vanessa Cory	Cllr Swan	Questions relating to sustainable transport
	Adrian Howlett		
J	Simon Bacon	Cllr Dhindsa	Fly-tipping

For more information or if you have any specific requirements please contact Democratic Services on 01332 643643. Documents can be accessed online at https://democracy.derby.gov.uk/

	Questioner	Respondent	Summary
K	Simon Beavis	Cllr Swan	Carbon literacy training
L	Clare Wood	Cllr Swan	Active Travel
M	Tony Mott	Cllr Peatfield	Queens' Street Baths options
N	Margaret Palmer	Cllr S Khan	Article 4 Direction
0	Pauline Inwood	Cllr Swan	Climate Change strategy
Р	Julie Brandon	Cllr Hezelgrave	Changing Places toilets
Q	Derek Gould	Cllr Shanker	Electoral Fraud
R	Simon Bacon	Cllr Shanker	Sinfin Waste Treatment Plant - Fly Infestation
S	Ruth Coates	Cllr S Khan	Royal Hill Road Housing Development
T	Paul Tice	Cllr Swan	Allestree Park Green Credits

- 7. Questions relating to Derbyshire Fire Authority or Derby Homes
- 8. Questions from non-Council Cabinet members.
- 9. Minute extracts 75-22 and 08-23 of the Audit and Governance Committee Attached (Committee Terms of Reference / Annual Report)
- 10. Returning Officer fees for Local Elections

Attached

11. Appointments to Committees and Outside Bodies

Attached

12. Notice of motion: Freedom of the City of Derby

Moved by Councillor Shanker, seconded by Councillor Peatfield:

Council recognises the contribution of Dame Margaret Beckett to the City of Derby, having served as the Member of Parliament for the Derby South constituency for more than 40 years.

During that time Dame Margaret has served her constituents with diligence and tenacity, championing Derby's manufacturing industries on the national stage and steadfastly maintaining her commitment to hosting regular advice surgeries for the people of our city.

In her long and distinguished Parliamentary career, Dame Margaret has served as a Minister in four Labour Governments and in 1994 became the first woman to lead the Labour Party. In 2006, she was appointed as the first female Foreign Secretary and only the second woman to hold one of the Great Offices of State. Council thanks Dame Margaret for her service to the nation and is proud of her record as a trailblazer for women's representation.

Council notes Dame Margaret's intention to stand down from Parliament at the next General Election and wishes her a long and healthy retirement. In recognition of her contribution to Derby and to the United Kingdom, Council resolves to award Freedom of the City to the Rt Hon Dame Margaret Beckett MP at a specially convened meeting, to be arranged in due course.

feee

Emily Feenan Monitoring Officer