Time commenced - 5:00pm Time finished - 5.14pm

### SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL 22 November 2023

The Mayor, Councillor Alan Graves and Councillors Amin, Ashby, Atwal, Bolton, Bonser, Care, Chambers, Dhindsa, Eyre, Evans, Fowke, Hassall, Hezelgrave, A Holmes, M Holmes, Hudson, C Ingall, P Ingall, Kaur, J Khan, S Khan, Kus, Lakin, Lonsdale, Lindsey, Morgan-McGeehan, Mulhall, Nawaz, Onuoha, Pandey, Pattison, Pearce, Peatfield, Potter, Poulter, Prosser, Rawson, Repton, Roulstone, Sandhu, Shanker, Smale, Swan, Whitby, Wilson, C Wright and J Wright.

## 49/23 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Kozlowski, Martin and Trewhella.

# 50/23 Declarations of Interest

There were none.

## 51/23 Honorary Freedom of the City

The Council received a report of the Chief Executive in relation to the award of Honorary Freedom of the City of Derby to three individuals who had previously been nominated by the Full Council.

The Mayor noted that under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 a local authority may award this honour to persons of distinction who had rendered eminent services to their local areas. The Act requires that any resolution to grant such an award be passed by not less than two-thirds of voting councillors at a meeting of the Council specially convened for that purpose.

It was reported that the Council had previously recommended that former Derby County manager, Mr Wayne Rooney; boxer and WBO Women's Welterweight Champion, Ms Sandy Ryan; and, Member of Parliament for Derby South, Dame Margaret Beckett MP, be considered for the award. The report presented biographical information in relation to each candidate, and appended minutes from the meetings of Council where the proposals were first considered.

The Mayor invited councillors to move recommendations to grant Honorary Freedom of Derby to each of the candidates separately.

As no motion was forthcoming in relation to Mr Wayne Rooney, the Mayor moved that the resolution of Council of 25 May 2022 be rescinded and that no further action be taken in relation to the matter. The motion was seconded by Councillor P Ingall, put to the vote and carried.

It was moved by Councillor Atwal and seconded by Councillor Pearce that Council confer on Ms Sandy Ryan the Honorary Freedom of the City of Derby. The motion was put to the vote and carried unanimously.

It was moved by Councillor Shanker and seconded by Councillor Peatfield that Council confer on the Rt. Hon. Dame Margaret Beckett MP the Honorary Freedom of the City of Derby, to be presented at a Civic Reception after the next General Election had taken place. The motion was put to the vote and lost.

#### **Resolved:**

- 1) To confer on Ms Sandy Ryan the Honorary Freedom of the City of Derby under powers vested upon the authority under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972;
- 2) To note that contact would be made with Ms Ryan in order for a civic reception to be arranged when she would receive the honour from the Mayor of Derby.

MAYOR