SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMISSION AND SAFER COMMUNITIES COMMISSION.

Decisions made at Full Council Meeting on 17 November 2010

Resolved to:

- 1. Dispense with the Resources Commission by allocating its functions to the Scrutiny Management Commission.
- Create a Safer Communities Commission and designate that as its Crime and Disorder Committee for the purposes of Section 19 of the Police and Justice Act 2006, and that the amended Terms of Reference of the Scrutiny Management Commission and the new Terms of Reference of the Safer Communities Commission, be as set out below.

Commission	Scope
Scrutiny Management Commission	From the following Council Cabinet Members' Areas of Responsibility: 1. Leader of the Council
	 Overall corporate strategic co-ordination and leadership Corporate policies and strategies Performance management Lead partnership liaison with city partners including Derby City Partnership Communications and consultation Emergency planning and business continuity Lead partnership liaison with local, regional, national and international partners Economic development and tourism, including City Centre Management Asset management including markets School meals and in-house catering
	2. Planning and Environment (Deputy Leader)
	Climate change / the environment and energy
	3. Resources
	 Corporate human resources including training and development
	Employee payments (payroll) and income tax External amployment initiatives.
	 External employment initiatives Customer Services including Derby Direct Council Tax and Business Rates

Commission	Scope
	 Information and Communications Technology and Telephony Procurement Legal and Democratic Services Financial Services, Audit and Risk Management Capital and Revenue Budgets Housing and Council Tax benefit administration Derwent New Deal for Communities programme and succession strategy Any matters that do not fall within the terms of reference of another Overview and Scrutiny Commission.
Safer Communities Commission	 To scrutinise the functions of the Derby Community Safety Partnership including the role of the Leader of the Council as lead liaison for the Partnership. To act as the Crime and Disorder Committee.

3. Appoint the Chair, Vice Chair and members of the new Safer Communities Commission as follows for the remainder of the current municipal year (Con 3, Lab 3, Lib Dem 2):

Chair – Councillor Naitta Vice Chair – Councillor Repton Councillors Atwal, Barker, Davis, Harwood, S Khan, L Winter