Constitutional Committees 2022-23

Mayor of Derby: Councillor Robin Wood

Deputy Mayor of Derby: Councillor Balbir Sandhu

Overview and Scrutiny Boards

Executive Scrutiny Board: 12 (Conservative 4, Labour 4, Lib Dem 2, Reform Derby 1, Independent 1)

Chair: Cllr Repton

Vice Chairs: SCRUTINY REVIEW BOARD CHAIRS FROM APPOINTEES BELOW

Other members: Cllrs Jennings, Cooper, M Holmes, Roulstone, Martin, Dhindsa, Whitby, Care, Carr,

Prosser, Ind Vacancy

Corporate Services Scrutiny Review Board: 7 (Conservative 3, Labour 2, Lib Dem 1, Reform 1)

Chair: Cllr Naitta / Cllr Evans – VOTE REQUIRED

Vice Chair: Cllr Nawaz

Other members: Cllrs T Pearce, Pandey, Cooper, Rawson

Regeneration and Housing Scrutiny Review Board 7 (Conservative 3, Labour 2, Lib Dem 1, Reform 1)

Chair: Cllr Roulstone
Vice Chair: Cllr Testro

Other members: Cllrs Pandey, M Holmes, West, S Khan, Lindsey

Children and Young People Scrutiny Review Board 7 (Conservative 3, Labour 2, Lib Dem 1, Reform 1)

Chair: Cllr Lind

Vice Chair: Cllr Whitby / Cllr Kus – VOTE REQUIRED

Other members: Cllrs Pandey, Pattison, T Pearce, Bonser, Kus

Adults and Health Scrutiny Review Board 7 (Conservative 3, Labour 2, Lib Dem 1, Independent 1)

Chair: Cllr Martin

Vice Chair: Cllr Lonsdale

Other members: Cllrs A Holmes, Cooper, Pattison, J Khan, Froggatt

Communities Scrutiny Review Board * 7 (Conservative 3, Labour 2, Lib Dem 1, Reform 1)

Chair: Cllr Dhindsa / Cllr Prosser – VOTE REQUIRED

Vice Chair: Cllr Hezelgrave

Other members: Cllrs Pearce, Cooper, Pattison, Atwal

including matters acting as statutory health committee

^{*} Including matters acting as statutory crime and disorder committee

Regulatory Committees

Planning Control Committee: 12 (Conservative 4, Labour 4, Lib Dem 2, Reform 1, Independent 1)

Chair: Cllr S Khan

Vice Chair: Cllr Potter / Cllr Care – VOTE REQUIRED

Other members: Cllrs Jennings, Pearce, M Holmes, Rawson, West, Nawaz, Carr, Prosser, Ind Vacancy

Licensing Committee: 15 (Conservative 5, Labour 5, Lib Dem 2, Reform 2, Independent 1)

Chair: Cllr J Khan / Cllr Atwal – VOTE REQUIRED

Vice Chairs (x4): Cllrs Jennings, Pandey, Sandhu, Hussain

Other members: Cllrs A Holmes, Pearce, Potter, Peatfield, Hezelgrave, Skelton, Evans, Lindsey, Ingall

Other Committees

Corporate Parenting Committee: 9 (Conservative 3, Labour 3, Lib Dem 1, Reform 1, Independent 1)

Chair: NO NOMINATIONS RECEIVED
Vice Chair: NO NOMINATIONS RECEIVED

Other members: Cllr Pandey, Pattison, Roulstone, Whitby, Hezelgrave, Swan, Lind, Kus, Ind Vacancy

Disputes Resolution Committee: 4 (Conservative 2, Labour 1, Reform 1)

Cannot be the same members as Personnel Committee
Chair: To be determined at first meeting
Vice Chair: To be determined at first meeting
Members: Cllrs Poulter, Barker, West, Lindsey

Audit and Governance Committee 9 (Conservative 3, Labour 3, Lib Dem 2, Reform 1)

Cannot appoint Cabinet Member

Chair: Cllr West

Vice Chair: Cllr Jennings

Other members: Clirs A Holmes, Roulstone, Dhindsa, Hezelgrave, Care, Carr, Reform Vacancy

Personnel Committee 9 (Conservative 3, Labour 3, Lib Dem 2, Reform 1)

Cannot be the same members as Disputes Resolution Committee

Chair: Cllr A Holmes Vice Chair: Cllr Carr

Other members: Cllr A Holmes, Jennings, Potter, Swan, Rawson, Bonser, Skelton, Evans

Conservation and Heritage Advisory Committee: 3 (Conservative 1, Labour 1, Lib Dem 1)

Chair is taken by an outside representative Members: Cllrs Wood, Bonser, Carr

Standards Committee (Conservative 1, Labour 1, Lib Dem 1, Reform Derby 1, Independent 1)

Not subject to Widdecombe, all members appointed as Vice Chair

Chair: Cllr S Khan

Vice Chairs: Cllrs A Holmes, Atwal, A W Graves

Health and Wellbeing Board

Elected members:

Chair: Leader of the Council

Other members: Cllrs Webb, Martin, Whitby, Lind, Lonsdale

Under the Health and Social Care Act 2012, councillor appointments are made by the statutory member,

this being the Leader of the Council. In 2021-22 there were eight councillor appointments.

Non-elected members:

Statutory: Robyn Dewis (Derby City Council), Andy Smith (Derby City Council), Steve Studham (Healthwatch Derby), Merryl Watkins (Derby and Derbyshire Clinical Commissioning Groups)

Non statutory (appointments made by Council): David Cox (Derbyshire Constabulary), Jayne Needham (Derbyshire Community Healthcare Services), Stephen Bateman (DHU Healthcare), Magnus Harrison (Derbyshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust), Vacant (Health and Wellbeing Network), Vacant (NHS England), Chris Clayton (Derbyshire CCGs and Statutory ICS Representative), Angelique Foster (Derbyshire Police and Crime Commissioner), Kim Harper (Community Action Derby), Ifti Majid (Derbyshire Healthcare Foundation Trust), Rachel North (Derby City Council), Perveez Sadiq (Derby City Council), Helen Dillistone (Joined Up Care Derbyshire), Clive Stanbrook (Derbyshire Fire and Rescue Service), Vacant (University of Derby), Amjad Ashraf (Derby Health Inequalities Partnership), Paul Brookhouse (Derby Poverty Commission), Clare Mehrbani (Health, Housing and Homelessness Group – Derby Homes), Ian Fullagar (Health, Housing and Homelessness Group – Derby City Council), Vacant (General Practice) and Vacant (Environmental Health).

Joint Bodies (Numbers to be confirmed with Derbyshire County Council)

Derbyshire Fire Authority: (Conservative 2, Labour 1, Lib Dem 1)

Nominations: Cllrs Potter, Williams, Peatfield, Skelton

Police and Crime Panel: (One nomination and substitute required – Conservative or Labour – political

balance of PCC will be achieved by co-option appointments)

Nomination: Cllr Potter / Cllr Dhindsa – **VOTE REQUIRED** Substitute: Cllr Smale

Derbyshire Development Plans Joint Advisory Committee: (Conservative 2, Labour 2, Lib Dem 1)

Nominations: Cllrs Poulter, Smale, S Khan, West, Carr

Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education: (Conservative 1, Labour 1, Lib Dem 1, Reform Derby 1)

Nominations: Cllrs Wood, Martin, Lonsdale, Kus

Champions

Disability – Cllr Naitta

Minority Ethnic Communities – Cllr Dhindsa

Older People – Cllr Swan

Children and Young People – Cllr Whitby / Cllr Lind – VOTE REQUIRED

LGBTQ+ – Cllr Lonsdale

Gender – Cllr Peatfield

Anti-Fraud – Cllr West

Corporate Safeguarding – Cllr Whitby

Mental Health – Cllr Lonsdale / Cllr Lindsey – VOTE REQUIRED

Cycling – Cllr Care

Armed Forces – Cllr Cooper / Cllr Lindsey – VOTE REQUIRED

Climate Change (one per group) – Cllr Potter, Cllr Peatfield, Cllr Care, Cllr Prosser