Time commenced - 6.04pm Time finished - 7:32pm

# **EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL**19 January 2022

Present: The Mayor, Councillor Robin Wood, and Councillors Atwal, Barker, Bettany, Bonser, Care, Carr, Cooper, Dhindsa, Evans, Grimadell, Hassall, Hezelgrave, A Holmes, M Holmes, Hussain, Ingall, Jennings, J Khan, S Khan, Lind, Lonsdale, Martin, McCristal, Naitta, Nawaz, Pandey, Pattison, J Pearce, T Pearce, Peatfield, Pegg, Potter, Poulter, Prosser, Repton, Roulstone, Sandhu, Shanker, Skelton, Smale, Testro, Webb, West, Williams and Willoughby.

## 69/21 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Eyre, A J Graves, A W Graves and Kus.

#### 70/21 Declarations of Interest

There were none.

### 71/21 Derby's Electoral Cycle

A report of the Strategic Director of Corporate Resources was considered in respect of Derby's electoral cycle, following a resolution of Council at its meeting of 24 November 2021 to reconsider altering the current electoral cycle of election by thirds to whole council elections. It was noted that the Council had considered the matter on two previous occasions in November 2016 and September 2020.

The report noted the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's (LGBCE) ongoing review of the Council's ward boundaries, stating that it would result in a single whole Council election taking place in May 2023, irrespective of the outcome of a vote on permanent alteration to the cycle.

The previous resolution of Council requested that debate and consideration of the matter was based on a prior public consultation undertaken between 27 January and 23 March 2020. The report presented the results of that consultation for reconsideration, alongside several other representations received at that time from partner organisations in Derby.

The report detailed the statutory requirements to which any vote to alter the electoral cycle must adhere. This included the need to hold an extraordinary meeting of the Council to consider the matter and that a two-thirds majority of voting councillors was required to implement the change.

It was moved by Councillor Shanker, and seconded by Councillor Poulter, that:

Council resolves to move to four-yearly 'all council' elections, where all councillors will be elected collectively for a period of four years commencing with local elections to be held in 2023.

Council requests that the Director of Legal, Procurement and Democratic Services, as Electoral Registration Officer, notifies the Electoral Commission and makes any such statutory arrangements as are necessary to facilitate this change.

As required under Council Procedure Rule CP71a, it was requested by at least 10 members that a recorded vote be taken. The voting was as follows:

#### For the motion:

Councillors Barker, Bettany, Bonser, Cooper, Dhindsa, Grimadell, Hassall, Hezelgrave, A Holmes, M Holmes, Hussain, Ingall, Jennings, J Khan, S Khan, Kus, Martin, McCristal, Nawaz, Pandey, Pattison, J Pearce, T Pearce, Peatfield, A Pegg, Potter, Poulter, Repton, Roulstone, Sandhu, Shanker, Smale, Webb, West, Williams and Wood (35).

#### Against the motion:

Councillors Atwal, Care, Carr, Evans, Lind, Lonsdale, Naitta, Prosser, Skelton, Testro and Willoughby (11).

#### Abstentions:

None (0).

The motion was carried, having achieved the necessary two thirds majority of those councillors present and voting.

#### Resolved:

- Council resolves to move to four-yearly 'all council' elections, where all councillors will be elected collectively for a period of four years commencing with local elections to be held in 2023.
- 2. Council requests that the Director of Legal, Procurement and Democratic Services, as Electoral Registration Officer, notifies the Electoral Commission and makes any such statutory arrangements as are necessary to facilitate this change.

**MAYOR**